AOA Post Match advice needed.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theosteoblasts

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just to give some background, I am a 2018 DO graduate that graduated last year but could not find a residency in the match because I had a PE score that I had to wait on(2nd attempt) which led to me getting no interviews. My scores are not good and the obvious red flag of failed boards counts against me.

I did research this year during interview season and got 2 interviews for Family Medicine in hospitals that I do like very much.

I know my chances of matching are not great but that the AOA Post Match is my best chance of getting a residency for next year. My first choice is Internal Medicine(because I think I lean towards inpatient more than outpatient) but would be equally happy if I got a Family Medicine position since most of my favorite rotations were with Family Medicine.

My question is, what is the best way to handle the Post Match in order to get a residency in case I don't match? Emails? Calls? Should I bother with AOA IM programs with openings or do I not have any chance at all ?

I have the conception that it will be easier to find something in the AOA than the ACGME just because more DO's are taking part in ACGME match every year . Please correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I think calling would be more efficient. Definitely go for IM too. Apply to all the positions you can if you have to scramble, it’s worth a shot. Did you register for the main match too?

Reactions: 1 user
I think calling would be more efficient. Definitely go for IM too. Apply to all the positions you can if you have to scramble, it’s worth a shot. Did you register for the main match too?

I did but unfortunately didn't get any NRMP match interviews. I can scramble into that as well and thats my second shot(less likely).