Applying broadly after a sad result from last year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pacna

Dyslexics, untie!
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, guys. First post. I want to know what y'all think of my chances this year. A bit of a back-story:

I applied last year to 8 MD programs. I'm a MN resident, and I got an interview at UoM-TC. Obviously I didn't get invited to matriculate.

My stats:
3.9 science GPA,
3.86 non-science.
36P MCAT.
I have a huge amount of volunteer experience (awards, too), was an EMT, phlebotomist, and shadowed for countless hours.
No research to speak of.
I just graduated from Michigan State in May.

This year, I'm applying to 9 DO programs and ~12 MD schools. I'm still deliberating on some of the MDs.

What do you guys think of my chances? I was confident I was going to get in last year, but I only got the one interview. I figure if the chances are equal this year, I'll probably get 2-3 interviews. Hopefully 1 acceptance? Are re-applicant chances significantly worse? I feel like not much has changed about my application this year, so I'm a bit anxious.

Thanks!
Rik

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey, guys. First post. I want to know what y'all think of my chances this year. A bit of a back-story:

I applied last year to 8 MD programs. I'm a MN resident, and I got an interview at UoM-TC. Obviously I didn't get invited to matriculate.

My stats:
3.9 science GPA,
3.86 non-science.
36P MCAT.
I have a huge amount of volunteer experience (awards, too), was an EMT, phlebotomist, and shadowed for countless hours.

This year, I'm applying to 9 DO programs and ~12 MD schools. I'm still deliberating on some of the MDs.