Applying for Ophthalmology...with low score and husband already matched

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

srd4g9

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to apply for Ophthalmology but this was a relatively late decision given the competiveness of the specialty. To be completely honest I am a pretty average student on paper. I've done fine to well on most rotations (except optho - honors). My boards score really weighs me down - 195 (80th percentile). I'm sure that I'm a much smarter student than that but I'm not an excellent test taker. I do feel that I'm great with people and am a good clinician.
Also, my husband graduated this past year and has matched into the anesthesia program at Case Western Metro Health. So the harder part of this is trying to match into the same area.
Now that you have all this information I have a couple questions:

Do I have a chance in matching in Ophthalmology this year? Or do I need more time to work on making a stronger CV?

Should I take Step 2 as soon as I can or should I work on doing out of town rotations in the hospitals in Cleveland that I'd really like to match into? (Applications go out so soon, I have September through November open for either rotations or taking the exam but it is hard for me to prioritize which should come first - is October too late for an out of town elective?)

What do you think of taking a day to tour the facilities and speaking with program director of other residencies that I may not have time to rotate at - beneficial or waste of time?

I'm not naive enough to think that I will come across as an ideal applicant but I am optimistic that there is still time for me to work on matching.
If anyone could help with my questions or has any advice to offer it will be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.