Applying from recently established UG institution

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

autocrave

Never not steamy
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Per the title of this thread, I'm a student at a very, very recently established university. AFAIK there have been less than five students here who tried applying to any sort of medical program, let alone MD/PhD. Virtually everything I know about pre-med and medical school I have had to look up myself because the advisement services simply do not exist here. I am worried that adcoms might toss my application since they'll have little if any baseline for evaluating my institution or major.

Will being one of the first applicants from a new university hurt me in the admissions process, even if my application itself is very competitive? I read in the sticky that UG institution matters very little but I am still nervous.

Members don't see this ad.

You might need to apply more broadly for MD/PhD, but if you MCAT, GPA, and research experiences are excellent, it shouldn't be too much of a handicap. The issue is if your GPA is 3.5, then, nobody would be able to compare it to the MCAT/GPA Report to assess whether your school is competitive or not. It requires that the prior cycle, more than 5 applicants were accepted. An awesome MCAT will perk some interest from top MSTPs. If you apply broadly and you are too successful, you then can triage interviews.
Good luck.