Applying Late in the Process - Looking for Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jd1313

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting here so hopefully it's in the right area. I'm a senior in my undergrad and was looking for some advice on the PT application cycle for 2019-2020. Barring taking the GRE, I have completed the rest of my application just recently and am set to take the GRE in a few days. The list of schools I'm applying is 6-7, but I understand that I'm applying a bit late in the process as most deadlines are either in October/beginning of November. My question is should I not expect much in terms of getting a seat at the schools I apply to because I submitted later than most? For some of the schools I applied to there are ED but only a few have rolling admissions, which obviously might affect my chances. For reference, I put my stats below if that puts things into perspective. Thanks for any help and advice!

University: University of Maryland
Major: Kinesiology
Overall GPA: ~ 3.6
Pre-Req GPA: ~ 3.5
GRE: taking in a few days

Extra-Curric: Varsity Student Athlete for 2 years, Student Athlete Advisory Committee, Undergraduate Research Assistant for Biomechanics Lab, TA for kinesiology summer class, employed at Rec Center on campus, couple leadership positions within clubs

References: 2 from PT's and 1 Professor, all had good relationships with

Observation: ~ 500 hours; 400 with Athletic Department PT, 30 in-patient at Brain & Spinal Cord Injury Ward, 50 at general pop outpatient, 30 w/ geriatrics outpatient

Applying: Columbia, UMB, UMES, Pitt, U of Florida, Drexel

Members don't see this ad.

Have you thought about giving yourself a break after undergrad to work, travel, etc.? Next year you could apply early and optimize your chances even more. I mean, if you don't mind spending money on application fees this time around, go for it and see what happens.