Applying to dental school before i have my bachelor/graduate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Skateguitar

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I have a question, and it would really help me if you guys could answer or guide me.
Basically, I am applying during may 2010 to dental school :eek: however, I will not have my bachelor at the time of application NOR will I "be" a university graduate. My question: Is it ok to apply to dental schools without my bachelor and/or university diploma at the time of application? It seems highly competitive and i want to know how to plan my next semester accordingly, due to budget cuts and the fact that i go to a state university (nothing wrong with that, they just dont offer enough classes or different times to take those classes :() I will probably finish my bachelor and graduate university at the end of spring 2011 or hopefully fall 2010. I want to get into dental school for fall 2011. Please answer if its ok!!! thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I'd guess that the majority applicants are in between their jr and sr year.

As long as you have your prereqs for each school taken care of you are fine.

You just need your bachelors by the time you would matriculate in dental school.

Members don't see this ad :)
It's certainly not a requirement to have your Bachelor's while applying, although it may be seen as a plus to have your bachelor's by the time of matriculation.
However, it is not also necessary to have your Bachelors at all. There are students who apply during their third year of university, and are accepted without ever obtaining a bachelors.

You just need your bachelors by the time you would matriculate in dental school.

not necessarily true. you just need your prereqs, but if u plan on graduating and tell the schools you are gonna, you need to graduate before matriculation. TECHNICALLY you dont need a bachelors