Applying to DO after rejection from MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IAmBlessed

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN! I am a former applicant for the 2015 cycle for admissions. It looks like from the result so far, I'm most likely not going to get accepted into any allopathic school :(. I'm not sure what happened, my mcat is a 31 (9verbal,11bs,11ps), my GPA is a 3.83 (3.7science gpa), and I graduated from a top 20 university. I am still adamant about medicine, so I am thinking about applying to some DO schools. I did some research and I found out that DO and MD are almost identical in how they are taught at school and how its actually practiced. My question to you is this.

As an applicant, how is applying to DO schools different from Allopathic schools? Would they accept all my science letters? Do we have to volunteer in different places? I have a physician letter from an MD thats being added to my application, but I'm afraid the DO admissions won't care for the insight of a physician thats not in the exact same field. Can somebody give me some information on this?

Members don't see this ad.

Shadow a DO. Figure out how you are going to answer the "why DO?" Question on secondaries and interviews (hint: saying you didn't get into an MD school isn't a legit answer) your GPA might change because math isn't included and if you did any retakes they are replaced.

Other than that there aren't any real differences I can think of. Your stats are good - what do you think happened this year? Also you can apply to both MD and DO schools next year

Reactions: 1 user
You want to do DO shadowing for DO schools. They consider it important. Start cold calling.