Medical Are 2 W grades in premed classes a problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current senior planning on applying to med school after taking 2 gap years (haven't taken MCAT yet). I'm starting to think (very preliminarily) about applications, and wanted to throw a question out there about W grades on transcripts. I unfortunately have 2 - one in gen chem 2 my freshman year, and one in orgo 2 the summer after my junior year. The first W occurred just because I was a stupid freshman and terrified of getting anything other than an A so I dropped the class when it got hard - bad decision I know. The second W occurred due to unexpected family/Covid-related circumstances that required me to travel back and forth across the country to take care of my family several times - it got to be too much and I had to drop the course. The gen chem class I retook during a semester that was pass-fail due to Covid at my school, and I'm planning on retaking orgo 2 in the winter. I feel confident that I can do well because I am planning on having an otherwise light class load and have been self-studying since I dropped the class.