Are benzodiazepines + marijuana ever a reasonable option for control of anxiety and depression?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ligament

Interventional Pain Management
Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a pain doctor, not a psychiatrist.

Have a young male patient with profound anxiety. Seeing a psychiatrist and psychiatrist is prescribing xanax 1mg TID PRN + "medical" marijuana + atomoxetine 60mg Q24hr

Is this considered an appropriate medication combination? Not my specialty and want some opinions.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Bet his yelp reviews are through the roof

Reactions: 21 users
How do you feel about the literature on durability of "medical mj" for chronic pain and is this something that you would be prescribing to this patient?

Personally, I can't imagine ever putting a patient on this regiment but I can see a slightly defensible, less ideal, rare patient: chronic severe pain after debilitating injury/cancer, failed all front line non surgical interventions for pain, gets MJ, develops severe panic disorder and fails adequate trial of three antidepressants, gets med term benzo with strict plan to taper after panic resolves, and has history of ADHD since childhood, was on stimulants but transitioned to atomox.

I'm betting that this isn't your patient...

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
If the Alprazolam is being using infrequently, at low dosages, and definitely less than daily, hopefully much less than this it's okay.

Marijuana: can't answer this. This is a highly complex issue and the information you provided is too sparse.

Reactions: 1 user
How do you feel about the literature on durability of "medical mj" for chronic pain and is this something that you would be prescribing to this patient?