are crocs/dansko professional enough to be worn on psych rotation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lazylarry

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
so i got a pair of black merrell's jungle crocs and i was wondering if those are professional enough to be worn on a psych rotation where dress clothes are expected. what about the sanita clogs (though i don't prefer them b/c i got them 2 days ago and they have been killing my feet..not comfortable)? or if neither of those work, what is an good comfortable dress shoe alternative??

Members don't see this ad.

I always see people wearing this style of shoe in the hospital. Even if you could get away with it as a student I think they are horribly ugly looking. LLbean has some dress shoes with a healthy chunk of padding in them...highly recommended.

I certainly wouldn't wear them first day. Go in, feel things out for the first week or so, then make a judgement call.

Members don't see this ad :)
so i got a pair of black merrell's jungle crocs and i was wondering if those are professional enough to be worn on a psych rotation where dress clothes are expected. what about the sanita clogs (though i don't prefer them b/c i got them 2 days ago and they have been killing my feet..not comfortable)? or if neither of those work, what is an good comfortable dress shoe alternative??

I wore my black merrel's almost every day of my psych rotation and no one cared. I've never had anyone look at my choice of shoes as a negative but I'm sure there are people out there that judge... They're ugly but if you're going to be on your feet all day you might as well be comfortable.

Go for it. You won't win style points, but who cares? My feet were killing me in my "stylish" shoes on several rotations, so I bought some uglier but much more comfortable shoes.

No one ever gets points down for professional appearance unless they wear like a miniskirt or something.