Asthma exac

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WheezyBaby

RSV Fomite
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
What is y'all's approach to managing patients with acute asthma exacerbation who, after their initial nebs and steroid dose, remain subjectively (to the patient) quite dyspneic / unimproved but objectively are reasonably stable (may have persistent significant wheezing, but reasonable air exchange, at most mildly tachypneic, talking full sentences, no accessory mm use, no supplemental oxygen, etc)? Put them on continuous for a bit, go ahead and try to space them?

And just in general, when if ever are y'all using peak flows?

Just trying to get some insight on practice variation outside my institution, thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I do 1omg albuterol and 1 mg ipratropium then repeat another 10mg after an hur or two most get better. I used peak flows like once when I was a resident. I don't now.

Reactions: 1 user
What is y'all's approach to managing patients with acute asthma exacerbation who, after their initial nebs and steroid dose, remain subjectively (to the patient) quite dyspneic / unimproved but objectively are reasonably stable (may have persistent significant wheezing, but reasonable air exchange, at most mildly tachypneic, talking full sentences, no accessory mm use, no supplemental oxygen, etc)? Put them on continuous for a bit, go ahead and try to space them?

Just trying to get some insight on practice variation outside my institution, thanks!

Well, provided this is truly an asthma exacerbation and not something else causing the dyspnea.