Average GPA IN dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

baracuda

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
just curious to see what the average gpa's are out there and what kinda gpa allows you to fall into top 20% of your class. I gotta feeling that the GPA at my school is really inflated and wanted to get a feeling of whats out there.

Members don't see this ad.

For what it's worth, I just finished my first semester with a 3.0, and by all indications I've seen I'm almost exactly in the middle in class rank. I wouldn't be able to venture a reliable guess as to where the top quintile ends.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm in my 4th year, our class GPA ranges from 3.8-2.3. A 3.0 will get you around 50th (out of 75) in our class, but 30th (out of 70) in the class behind us. # 2 has a 3.6, # 20 has a 3.3

A 3.8 at Temple gets you #8 overall out of 124. Not sure how close the ranks are though....like would a 3.75 drop you down to #20....not sure

Well, since you asked..

My class has 78 students.

After first semester first year I had a 3.624 and was ranked 9th.

After second semester first year I had a 3.729 and was ranked 4th.

After first semester second year I had 3.738 and was ranked 3rd.

After second semester second year I have a 3.737 and my rank will probably go up or down one or stay the same.

Dan, looks like you're doing extremely well in dental school. Keep it up!

Dan, This is the time for you to think about specialty school if you are interested. #2 and #3 in my class elected to be GPs. One had dad and the other a husband as dentists. #1 went to ortho. #4-12 went GP and #13 to OS. (Don't ask me how I remember, I just do, it's weird)

Look into endo or ortho with your good grades. Perio and OS is hard work :). Pedo is for nuts:laugh: