Bad to take Physics at a Cal State?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anonymous.2

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a first year at UCLA and am wondering how bad it would be for me to take physics at a Cal State over the summer instead of at UCLA? I would take the classes over two summers. I have no physics background, but have taken calculus. I have done well my first two quarters so far.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

If you are currently doing well in your first two quarters, what is motivating you to take physics at Cal State? If you have been handling UCLA well so far, I don't really see why it would be necessary to consider taking classes elsewhere. Also, while taking pre-req classes at 'lower-tier' schools is allowed (at most medical schools, some do not allow it to count as a pre-req), it's generally not recommended unless there are extenuating circumstances.

If you are currently doing well in your first two quarters, what is motivating you to take physics at Cal State? If you have been handling UCLA well so far, I don't really see why it would be necessary to consider taking classes elsewhere. Also, while taking pre-req classes at 'lower-tier' schools is allowed (at most medical schools, some do not allow it to count as a pre-req), it's generally not recommended unless there are extenuating circumstances.

I have been doing well because I have a strong background in chemistry (from AP Chem), so the courses have not been too difficult thus far. However, I have zero physics background (never took a class in high school) So would not like to not do well in physics at UCLA

I have been doing well because I have a strong background in chemistry (from AP Chem), so the courses have not been too difficult thus far. However, I have zero physics background (never took a class in high school) So would not like to not do well in physics at UCLA