Being black in an all white school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MintBerryCrunch

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have pretty much gone to either racially diverse schools or majority black schools k through 12. However, the school I am looking at transferring in to is more than 90% white and approximately 2% black (it is also very small so it is really just a handful of black students). I like the school, but this is a big concern. Has anyone else here dealt with a similar situation, and if so, how did you handle it?

Members don't see this ad.

I graduated from UT Austin. Huge school (53,000 students) and it was mainly white and asian. I loved my experiences there, but I felt a little bit uncorfortable at first with the fact that there were only 2000 Black students and of those 2000, only 500 were male. At first I noticed people didn't want to give me a chance, considering there were like 3 black people in the entire pre-medical track! I learned how to become friends with all types of people and now I am glad to hve had that experience. I think even though we were a small group, our presence was known, but it's good to not limit yourself to just chillin with black friends. I ended up appreciating a lot of different cultures and I still have mad love for all of my foreigners! LOL

It will be what you make of it, MintBerryCrunch, all you have to do is try to meet new people, but know you probably will run into some racists. it is what it is.

Reactions: 2 users