Best ENT programs to do Away rotations in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rodmichael82

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year medical student but I'm struggling to figure out where I should do an away rotation. I have looked at the following programs and was wondering if there's reviews or anything in regards to these programs. I've searched online already and couldn't find anything.

1. George Washington
2. University of Wisconsin
3. Texas A&M

Members don't see this ad.

otomatch is your best bet. i'm curious as to why you're selecting aways at these relatively small programs (GWU, TAMU), in terms of # of seats? unless you have connections, geographic bias..

I've long been an opponent of away rotations. Having said that, you should do away rotations at a place that you think might be a place where you do residency. Don't go to a program just because there's a big name there who might write you a stunning recommendation. The reality is that they won't. 9 times out of 10 the letters of recommendation from big-name individuals are very impersonal and don't help your application. On the other hand if you go to a place that you really want to match at, you better exhibit your best, because you can easily kill your application with a misstep.

Sent via my mobile device.

Members don't see this ad :)
I've long been an opponent of away rotations. Having said that, you should do away rotations at a place that you think might be a place where you do residency. Don't go to a program just because there's a big name there who might write you a stunning recommendation. The reality is that they won't. 9 times out of 10 the letters of recommendation from big-name individuals are very impersonal and don't help your application. On the other hand if you go to a place that you really want to match at, you better exhibit your best, because you can easily kill your application with a misstep.