BFA Hons. in Dance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

graham_cracker

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm new to SDN. I've read up on some really helpful posts on this forum regarding med-school applications. After 3 years of traveling and living abroad and currently working as a professional dancer, I've decided to returning to Uni in september to complete my degree (BFA-Bachelor of fine arts, with honours in dance). I've worked with children living with HIV in Thailand with other artists and musicians, and have seen broken health care systems in many Asian countries, which made me consider medicine as a career. I've also tried teaching dance abroad and found out how much I hated teaching and working with young children. I felt very lost after coming home to Canada, and was looking for an alternative career/going back to school. I wanted something that involved high stress, being on your feet all the time, I wanted to continue to work with the body, a career that's hands on and crafty involving physical practise (like surgery), and also with enough peer competition to keep me engaged (I can get bored very quickly). I would literally collapse and die if I had to work an office from 9-5 with a set schedule, or sit in front of a computer (props to those who can do it)!