calculus dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ladyinblue

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I've been lurking for a while and I really didn't know who to ask so I figured I might as well as it here. My situation is that I took calculus in high school and it counted for 2 quarters of calculus at the university. As an incoming freshman my counselor told me I didn't need anymore calculus. But now that I'm getting ready to apply to optometry schools, Berkeley is one of the few that require 3 quarters of calculus. I really don't remember ANY calc and I don't have a good feeling about jumping into mutivar calc out of the blue. Any advice? This might be a stupid question, but would they ever do something like waive the class? I have a 3.9+ gpa...but calc is definitely not my strength.

Also, off topic, but I'm planning to spend the summer studying for the OAT. Would it be a bad idea to try and study for it while also taking Anatomy (i'm awful with standardized tests)? Thanks for the much appreciated help.

Members don't see this ad.

i think multivariable calc is different from the others, so it wont be hard if you dont remember much of the stuff. that's not to say that you dont need the basics of calculus, which are pretty simple. go ahead and take it because berk is one of the stricter schools and you can't really waive prerequisite classes...
and you dont need anatomy to do well on the oat, so you should be fine with the basics.