California Resident, my chance at US MD schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hopefulpremed123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So I am currently a Senior in college and I am planning on applying next year to only MD US schools. I am currently a student at the University Of California- Los Angeles. However I did transfer from De Anza Community college two years ago.
- There, I did finish all my prerequisite classes including Gen chem, Organic chem, Physics, and Bio and Calculus.

Here are my stats:
My community college transfer GPA was a 3.73, with B's in General Chemistry 1 and General Chemistry 2, and Organic chem 2 with A's in all my other science and normal classes.

At UCLA, however, I got mostly all A's including in Bio chem and my upperdiv.

- My community college gpa plus UCLA GPA adds to 3.80 overall and a 3.67 science GPA

My mcat score is 513, which is about a 32 on the old one.

I have been conducting research extensiely since my freshman year( yes, even while i was in community college) and i am still doing research at that specific lab ever since.

I must say my extracurriculars are also fairly strong, with many leadership positions in almost everything I did.

I must say that i have no target school, I just want to get into A medical school, my stats might not be the greatest but I wouldn't think they are poor at the same time!

Do you guys have any specific schools I should apply to, where I would have a good chance of getting an admission?

here are the schools I am looking at are:
-UC Davis
-UC Irvine
-UC Los Angeles
-UC San Francisco
-UC San Diego
-USC
-UC Riverside
- Drexel
-Albany college
-New York Medical college
-Tulane
-Chicago Medical school( Pritzker)
- Geisel school of medicine- My Top Choice
-
Hofstra
-Penn State
- Stony Brook
- University of Arizona
-Virginia Tech
-Virginia Commonwealth
-Stanford( I wish :/ )

Thanks everyone!