Can I be a doctor?

Orioles10

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
For my entire life, I havent known what to do for a profession. I used to figure I'd just go to law or business school. But two weeks ago I came to a revelation that I might want to become a doctor.

I'm currently a junior in a rural PA high school. I've always been an honors student and really care about my grades. But my math and science grades have never been anything special. In fact I nearly failed my H. Chem final. Other than that I'm a pretty good student.

My family has no history in the medical field and I feel like that is a disadvantage. I don't know if I should even try to position myself for medical school because I feel that I would be part of the nearly 60% that would be rejected.

Any information or statement whatsoever would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hs grades don't matter. Anything is possible if you want it enough. Take the standard premed classes in college and take part in all of the other activities that you should do to make yourself a well rounded applicant (search sdn). Make sure to get early clinical experience to see if it is something you would actually like to pursue. Having family in medicine has no impact whatsoever.

Reactions: 1 user
Literally nothing academically about high school matters when it comes to getting into medical school. All that matters is what you do in college

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
1) HS grades are irrelevant in terms of getting into medical school

2) Having family who are health care professionals are irrelevant in getting into medical school

3) You don't know whether you'll fail unless you try

Reactions: 2 users
I was the first person in my family to graduate from college, and (fast forward a few years) now I'm a surgeon. You don't need medical people in the family to "get in".