Can I be a surgeon?

TeamRocketGrunt

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys. I was wondering if you could help me out with a question of mine (as seen in the title of the thread, obviously). A bit of background - I'm currently a high school student, and I want to become a physician, specifically a surgeon. However, there's a problem with my plan - I have strabismus in my left eye. I've had two surgeries (one when I was four; a second last summer) to correct it, but I still rely heavily on my right eye for vision. I wear glasses and, with my glasses, I can see fairly well with my right eye; my left eye, while it is more aligned, is still fairly weak. My question is, even with this eye condition, would it be possible for me to become a surgeon? Or should I give up my dream and settle for an easier specialty? I want to be a cardiothoracic surgeon, specifically, but I'm open to pursuing other forms of surgery.

Also, should I try doing eye exercises to strengthen my left eye? My opthalmologist says it won't help, but I've read online that neuroplasticity has been shown in this regard in patients up to age 15 (turning 15 next month). I have an eye patch that I can wear.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

It's not necessary to bump your own thread in the same day. If you're turning 15 next month, you have approximately 10 years before you'll be choosing specialties. Let's focus on graduating high school first.

Members don't see this ad :)
It's not necessary to bump your own thread in the same day. If you're turning 15 next month, you have approximately 10 years before you'll be choosing specialties. Let's focus on graduating high school first.

My apologies. I didn't know the "bumping etiquette" here. I usually frequent College Confidential, so I'm more used to their bumping etiquette.

If you have strab bad enough that you can't use loupes or a microscope that eliminated almost all surgical specialties

Moving to hSDN.