Can I get credit from my psych internship for transtional year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dean_Does_Happen

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am a US grad currently doing psych internship. I am planning on quitting psych residency because I realized the field is not for me even though I have huge respect for it.
My question is do I get any credit from my psych internship year (4 medicine rotations, two neurology rotations and 6 psych rotations) that I can apply towards a transitional year?
I am planning on applying for transitional year.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone. I am a US grad currently doing psych internship. I am planning on quitting psych residency because I realized the field is not for me even though I have huge respect for it.
My question is do I get any credit from my psych internship year (4 medicine rotations, two neurology rotations and 6 psych rotations) that I can apply towards a transitional year?
I am planning on applying for transitional year.
Likely not the whole year. Maybe some rotations like ER. I would anticipate completing the year over again.

Members don't see this ad :)
I know someone who transferred from psych to IM after intern year and was able to get credit for a few months. I don't know how that will work with a transitional internship, though, since that's only for one year anyway. Also, getting credit for licensure is one thing -- the program might need a body to do work.

I know someone who transferred from psych to IM after intern year and was able to get credit for a few months. I don't know how that will work with a transitional internship, though, since that's only for one year anyway. Also, getting credit for licensure is one thing -- the program might need a body to do work.