MD & DO Canadian, pre-med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

popeyespinach

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a Canadian student, just having graduated recently with a degree in math (from a Canadian uni). I'll be doing an MSc in Math (from a Canadian uni) and after which my goal is to apply for med, both in Canada and the States. I haven't written the MCATs but these are my undergrad stats:

AMCAS:
cGPA: 3.68
BCPM (at least what I think would be considered): 3.71
I had a terrible second term of my first year, and it has really brought my average down. In the last 3 years, I have an extremely well upward trend with a 3.95+ in my last year.

ECs:
I went to a school which offered co-op program so I had a few interesting opportunities:
1. For 8 months, I tutored full time at a community college and lectured a remedial course.
2. Worked in the medical physics dept of a hospital, doing QA and carried out a project that resulted in a review paper in a dosimetry journal
3. Worked on campus at my university as a full time teaching assistant for an online course, did marking and continued with part-time marking after leaving the position
4. Worked with a biology group on campus for 4 months, working on some mathematical modelling applied to genetics
5. Worked on a project with a researcher on campus for 4 months, in an area of physics/CS/math

I am not sure if the above would be considered EC's (would they?). Some weaker ECs are: intramural hockey for about 12 months, bouldering, resident assistant (RA)