Canadian reapplicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

loungebunny

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a Canadian student (3.72 GPA and 32 MCAT) currently working as a research technician.

I dropped out of graduate program some years back, took necessary prerequisite courses, did extracurriculars, and submitted my AMCAS in August 2013. I guess my application was pretty standard: ~50 hrs of shadowing, ~200 hrs of volunteering, ~50hrs of clinical volunteering, 3 publications, and 2 leadership positions (from past).

My application was very unsuccessful. I applied to >20 schools. I received only one interview (and I was rejected ). With my stats, Canadian schools were far out of my reach.

I am thinking about very different options at this point.

1. Since I can't do a whole lot to change my GPA, would it be worthwhile to re-take MCAT?
2. Since I have done so much research (my resume is mostly research for that matter), would it be better if I tried a different job in a different field? (as a way of increasing my "extracurricular" points?)
3. Should I take some years off this process and come back when my "extracurriculars" become more stellar?
4. Seeing how it is so difficult for international students to get in, should I consider off-shore options?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
1. Your MCAT is fine unless one of your subsection scores is very low. Unless you're sure you can score much much higher (like >37 IMO), I wouldn't recommend a retake.
2. Research is great experience to have for medical school. You seem to have covered your bases for the most part in terms of EC's. Maybe doing some more clinical volunteering from now until you reapply might help. Adding on more experiences always helps with reapplication