Cancelling an externship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Orthopedic Sturgeon

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a fourth-year student with an externship at another university scheduled in about a month - the externship is 4 weeks of emergency/critical care (2 rotation blocks). I scheduled this externship well before 4th year began. Now that I've experienced more of fourth year, I'm regretting scheduling an entire month of ER, as I don't want to burn out, have realized that 4 weeks of ER is not necessary for my goals, and would like to save money on accommodations.

Would it be poor form/taboo to try and cancel one of the 2 week blocks? The reason I'm doing the externship is mainly because I'm interested in doing a rotating internship at that school.

Members don't see this ad.

Cancelling less than a month before your scheduled block is less than ideal. Clinical schedules are often created 6-12 months ahead of time and individual services often want a specific number of students. So it's complicated making all the numbers work and last-minute changes can be difficult to accommodate.

But speaking just for myself, I rather have one less student on a block than have a student that doesn't want to be there. So I would give the contact person a call as soon as you can and discuss the situation and see how they feel about it.

By the way, many rotating internships will have 4 weeks or more of emergency/ECC duty.

Reactions: 1 user
ER was one of the rotations that burned me out the least to be honest, so also figure out the schedule of the place you're going. It might be better than you think.

At our school you had either 4 or 5 shifts per week that were 10 hours. (At least one week with only 4 days scheduled, so at least one week you got to have 3 full days off).