Can't put my fingers on exactly what area I am interested in...is it a bad look for letters of intent?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheOnlinePharmacist

P4
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th year pharmacy student currently in my 6th APPE block and starting my journey applying to Pharmacy residencies around the country. As of right now, I have not been able to narrow down my interests to just one area; however, I am currently interested in managed care, infectious disease, pediatrics, ambulatory care, critical care, medication safety, and community. I plan on applying mainly to managed care pharmacy system programs, pediatric programs, and some clinical programs that can provide rotations in the areas I am interested in.

When it comes to letters of intent, I know that they need to be personalized to each program I am applying to and explaining how THEY can be the best fit for me, but I am concerned that it may look bad if I have 1 LOI telling a managed care pharmacy program that I am interested in managed care for so and so reasons, another LOI mentioning I am interested in pediatric pharmacy for xyz reasons, and another LOI about community pharmacy...I feel like it may come off as if I am very unorganized and unable to make up my mind.

Is it a bad look? Should I only be putting my chips into 1 field? Should I mention that I can't pinpoint exactly what I am interested in? Does anyone have any tips on how I can go about this?

If anyone has tips or ideas on how to go about this from a different perspective I will gladly appreciate any help I can get!

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

It would be a big red flag to me if only 1 of your 3 LOR mention your interest in my program's scope (i.e. managed care, acute care, community).