Career Change to Dentistry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vr111718

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings everyone!

I have finally decided that I want to pursue dentistry (It's something I should have pursued years ago..but life happened).

Information about me:

- I am 32 years old (URM) and I work as a litigation paralegal (civil litigation defense) I have been working in the legal industry since 2014. I am married and we don't plan on having kids. We already own a house.
- I graduated from university from 2015 with a BS in Business Administration - I was at a community college before this and transferred.
- My undergrad gpa was not great 2.95
-I took a general chemistry 1 in 2018 - I should have not taken this as a I got a C in lecture and B in lab. I took it at SCUHS without ever taking a chem class before. I was working 60 hours a week during this time and the class was held on weekends from 8am to 5 pm (Saturday and Sunday) - no excuses. I plan to retake this class again.
- I have worked as a dental assistant for 10 years during my high school and undergrad - full time.

What should I do first to transition into this? Can I take pre-reqs at a community college? I want to take as much as I can there since I can afford them while I am in school. I plan to take some at a 4-year university.

The school that I am looking at is Western University Health Sciences in Pomona, CA and Loma Linda University for dentistry. Should I get a Masters after completing pre-reqs?

Any advice would be appreciated. Tia.

Members don't see this ad.

Look at the prices before you make your next move

Reactions: 5 users
I would first talk to the admissions staff at the schools you are interested in. You may have classes to take, and you definitely have to take a DAT exam. I'm not as certain about needing more experience, but recent experience would definitely be necessary and help you.

Reactions: 1 user