caribbean --> US any recent transfers?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shouldigomd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am a 3rd year SGU student in NY. I have read a few threads about transfers from years back but I am curious if anyone can give me any experiences especially recently. To those who have been and have not been successful. I am trying to weigh the pro's and con's as I can imagine assembling all the paperwork, going to interviews, and paying for all the applications will be a huge pain and require a ton of time which is tough during rotations. I realize it's a longshot but if I have a 1/10 chance I would think its worth it. I don't know what field I want to go in yet so I just want to put myself in the best position possible. Anyway my MCAT was 27, undergrad gpa 3.1, med school basic science avg A-, step 1 255. I don't have any amazing EC's or research. Is it something I should look into or is it a waste of time? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Most med schools, as you probably know, don't (or rarely do) take transfer students. Carribean transfers is a whole other ball game. I'm sorry to say, I doubt this will happen...

Hi guys,