Chance of doing well in the end?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Seravok

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Foremost, I've browsed the SDN threads here and there but finally signed up today. Read the rules and thought this would be the best place to post my question. My apologies if it's not the in correct area.

I'm just a first year premed student that bombed a Social Problems college course (F) while in high school. Completely hated the class due to the teachers attitude, so I stopped doing anything in the class within the last two months. Finished high school with a 3.44 GPA. So yes, it is my fault and I can do better. It wasn't my first choice to go the medical route but it is now. Currently work as a phlebotomist full time and attend school. Been shadowing a trauma & transplant surgeon off and on for a month now and will continue to do so. Also have a connection to a Chief of Staff for more learning opportunities.
With my shadowing, doing well in college, and current job, how badly is that F in Social Problems going to affect me? Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

If it happened in high school then I wouldn't include it at all unless it shows up on your college transcripts. Typically med schools don't even look at things from before your undergrad years, just like residencies don't look at things from your pre-med years. Even if it shows up on your transcript, you'll be able to explain it in secondaries. If you do well in college and get mostly A's and B's, you can chalk it up to immaturity or not being ready for that class level or something like that and most schools won't think twice about it. For now, don't worry about it, dominate your college classes, and if you have to include it then it will be an afterthought at most places.