MD Chances? Illinois; cGPA: 3.53; BCPM GPA: 3.66; MCAT: 27 and retake

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrRambo33

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an Illinois resident looking to apply to allopathic schools. I am currently a senior so will be taking a year off, and I just wanted to know what schools I should be applying to. I just retook the MCAT yesterday and was averaging a 31 on AAMC practice exams, going into the test. My GPA and times for some activities are the numbers that I will be applying with, assuming all goes as it should.

cGPA: 3.53 (2 C's freshman year in 'Intro to Bible' and 'Why so Grimm? Fairy Tales')
-Strong upward trend with a 3.94 GPA for my final two years.
BCPM GPA: 3.66

MCAT: 27, 29/30 retake?

College basketball player for 2.5 years (ended because of a heart surgery)

Summer Internship at Archer Daniels Midland (Agriculture) company's Randall Research Center ~ 500 hours

Summer Internship at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine, Psychiatry Department, as a research intern ~ 300 hours
- The main focus of this internship was conducting my own research and producing a poster or paper. We are currently looking to publish the paper.
- I was also able to shadow the doctor that was overseeing my work and attend presentations by the medical students and professors.

Hospital volunteer, 10 months ~ 200 hours

Big Brother with Big Brothers Big Sisters, 9 months ~ 100 hours

Teaching assistant for general physics, 2 semesters ~ 60 hours
- Grade lab and class materials and help set up and tear down labs

Student Activity Board, 2 semesters ~ 25 hours
- Help organize and run school events like homecoming, Super Bowl party, and off-campus movie nights

Chemistry Club, Treasurer, 2 semesters ~ 20 hours
- Go to local elementary schools and run simple chemistry experiments with the students