General Admissions & OTCAS Chances of getting into Chicago schools for OT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Greekgal234

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi everyone,

So I am currently a recreational therapist, desiring more from my career. It isn't challenging enough, so I was considering going back for OT. I love recreation therapy but there's unfortunately not as many job opportunities as I would like. There are more opportunities as an OT.

Schools I am thinking of applying to are university of IL at Chicago, Midwestern university, and rush university.

I have a Bachelor of Arts in recreation therapy.
My undergrad GPA is a 3.8.
My prerequisite gpa is around 3.0, but I plan to retake my prerequisites at my local community college. I don't know how they factor in retakes... but hopefiully that will help. I had C's in some classes. I think if I retake I would have around a 3.4-3.5.

I plan to apply fall 2018..

Haven't taken my GREs yet and I need OT volunteer hours. Going to try to get as many as possible. But I could get s great recommendation from a past professor and internship supervisor. Would also need one from an OT but working on it.

I did an internship in special recreation, currently work full time at a senior living facility and also part time as needed in special recreation for kids with special needs. I also have volunteered at many places and have lots of hours (over 150) for recreation therapy because it was fieldwork required for my bachelors. So I have a healthcare background.

I would be 27 when I apply so I am concerned about getting in as I am getting older and want to be done with school.

Do I have a solid chance? What can I do to improve my chances of getting into those schools the first time around??

Members don't see this ad.