child psychology careers

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

texpsych93

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! Brief background to my question: I'm taking a few years off between undergrad and applying to grad school to do some research, and I found myself wondering something.

I want to go into clinical psychology and focus on children. Everyone on the forum talks about how wonderful it is to work for a VA, I've read about their great benefits/pay/work/, and I'm wondering if there similarly great job opportunities for clinical psychologists who focus on children (aside from children's hospitals). If not at a hospital, are most forced into private practice or less lucrative CMHCs? I know I'm not going to get rich as a psychologist, I'd just like to get a better understanding of the options.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

If you an interest in working in K-12 schools, consider school psychology. The salaries are pretty decent and the job market is favorable. With a doctorate in school psych, you can pursue work in hospitals / CMHCs as long as you pursue a good amount of clinical work during your graduate studies.

Hi everyone! Brief background to my question: I'm taking a few years off between undergrad and applying to grad school to do some research, and I found myself wondering something.

I want to go into clinical psychology and focus on children. Everyone on the forum talks about how wonderful it is to work for a VA, I've read about their great benefits/pay/work/, and I'm wondering if there similarly great job opportunities for clinical psychologists who focus on children (aside from children's hospitals). If not at a hospital, are most forced into private practice or less lucrative CMHCs? I know I'm not going to get rich as a psychologist, I'd just like to get a better understanding of the options.

Thanks in advance!