class on supervising students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

purple1125

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Hello,
I have a few questions. I am currently a third year clinicalpsychology student. My school added a supervision class as a requirement forall incoming students. It is not required for me since I started the programthree years ago, but the DCT is encouraging everyone to take the class. Theclass is going to cover how to supervise students in clinical practice and willinclude hands-on training of assisting with supervision for first year clinicalstudents. I think this sounds like a good opportunity and the class wassuggested to my school by APA. However, I have an outside assistantship fornext year and thus will not receive a tuition waiver. I will receive a stipendin the amount of 15000, so paying for the class out of pocket would take awayfrom that. The class will also start this summer and I was planning on goinghome to be with my partner (we are in a long distance relationship) andvolunteer with a clinical psychologist to get clinical hours (which I need forinternship). So, what my questions are is 1. Do you think it will hurt mychances of getting an internship if I do not have the supervision class? 2.Would it be worth not getting clinical hours over the summer or spending timewith my partner to take the class? 3. It is worth paying for the class out ofpocket (which would be a few thousand dollars)?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,