Clinical PhD career advice: AMC vs hospitals vs community mental health services vs others

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Neurox31

Reaction score
Hello,
I have realized that I really don't know much about different settings clinical psychologists work at, I would appreciate if someone can share their experiences and insights. A little bit background here, I am currently a clinical PhD student with a concentration in neuropsych. I have some publication/posters but my advisor has crushed my last bit of interest in research, and I therefore focus more on clinical work. Recently, I started to think about future career, things really matter to me are stable income, work-life balance, and non-toxic, supportive culture/working environment. I have this ultimate goal of running my own private practice, and ideally I would like my early career to be a platform for me to accumulate experiences, reputation, interdisciplinary connections, etc. I have shared my goal with some mentors, and they all recommended pursuing internship/fellowship/early career at academic medial centers. (Of course they could be biased because they all work at AMCs.) But I am also feeling hopeless about pursuing a career at AMCs because my current lab is absolutely terrible with zero productivity. I would love to hear other people's opinions; what is it like to have a career in non-research heavy medical centers/ public or private hospitals/community mental health services/etc? Pros and cons? Is AMC really the only career path that can get me where I want to be, as I have been told? (I doubt). Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.