Coming back to CA for residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1008720

Hey all,

I'm a CA resident and I've been accepted to an established MD school on the east coast (Wake Forest) as well as a new CA MD school (CUSM.)

I'm really leaning toward Wake Forest - I really like the city, the faculty, the fact that it's more established, everything about it.

My only fear is that if I leave CA, it'll be harder to come back for residency. Does choosing an out-of-state MD school make it a lot harder to return for residency? Does anyone know anything about this? I think that's the main thing holding me back from committing right now.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I personally wouldn't go to a new school unless you had a very compelling reason to. Wake Forest is a solid, established school and while far from home, is absolutely a better option than CUSM.

It's definitely possible to get back. It depends on what field you're going into, how competitive you are, and whether you're shooting for top academic (Stanford/UCSF/UCLA/etc) or a community program. Work hard from the beginning and try to be the best student you can be. I realize that you'll have P/F Step 1 and I have no idea what metrics will be important when you apply in 4-5 years, but you definitely can make it back.

• Love
Reactions: 2 users
I personally wouldn't go to a new school unless you had a very compelling reason to. Wake Forest is a solid, established school and while far from home, is absolutely a better option than CUSM.