Concerned Student need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmStudent813

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
TL;DR - Is there any hope for my future career aspirations considering my lack of effort? What can I do to improve myself and my current standing?

I am currently a 2nd year student and I have serious concerns about my future.
I have always been a pretty smart guy and concepts have always came to me relatively easily so I was always happy just skating by. I failed a few classes in undergrad and was never really concerned because I understood the concepts I was just too short sighted to see the impact of not actually trying. Fast forward to pharmacy school. During the first semester of P1 year I failed a class and had to take a remediation exam to pass. This was a wake up call for me. Something made me realize that this was not a joke anymore. This is my future career. I could be using this knowledge to save and change lives instead of being selfish and living for the weekend.

Since then I have been taking my classes a little more seriously and improved my grades and my time management skills. I feel like I'm just now starting to put my all in and care about getting A's instead of just barely making it (I think my GPA is ~3.2). But I feel like it is too little too late. I am not involved with any organizations and have done no community service. I blame not being involved on the fact that I live an hour away from my university so after 4-6 hours of class plus the 2 hours of driving every day I am pretty exhausted after all of this and do not feel like doing community service (but maybe these are just excuses). I do work at a retail pharmacy every Sunday. Saturdays are my only day off which I use to blow off steam and typically study for 1-2 hours unless I have a big exam upcoming then I might study for 5-6 hours.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.