Confused student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scsu_rgzv

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting to the forums here. I am currently finishing my undergraduate in Community Psych at St. Cloud State in Minnesota. Next week, I have an interview for an MFT program at Argosy Twin Cities. I am really nervous, but I feel confident at the same time. After said interview, I meet with an admissions rep for their PsyD program (the Minnesota School of Professional Psychology). I guess the reason for this post is to receive some feedback about these two programs. I am more concerned with the PsyD program because I have heard some not-so-great things about it. Also, I would like to hear what you as a student asked the interviewers of your respective programs when you went in for an interview. Thanks!

Ryne

Members don't see this ad.

Oh god no, please stay away from the MSPP. That match rate does not rise above 30%. Not too mention that it's mean completion time is high for a PsyD. Not too mention that tuition is at least 37k a year, not counting other fees and books and such. It is not respected at all. I can all but guarantee that this will limit your employment opportunities throughout your career.

If you want to graduate with about 200k in loans that you will be paying off until you retire, go nuts. But, I would explore some other opportunities.

I do not know anything about MFT programs. However, I agree 100% with WisNeuro, steer clear of that PsyD program. The horrendous match rate and lack of respect for the program will make your future in the field uncertain - and unless you are independently wealthy, the debt will be crushing.

Go work in a lab for a year or two, or at least work in a clinical setting if research is not a priority for you. Then, apply to university-based PsyD programs.

Members don't see this ad :)