Contract negotiations: everything but salary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

5andten

Reaction score
working through some negotiations on contracts. What are some things that should be negotiated into contracts other than salary? Understand insurance, time off, cme etc. but what are some other non common ancillary things you’ve found beneficial to contracts? Any other general tips on negotiation?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
maternity/paternity leave, sign on bonus, relocation bonus, collections bonus, noncompete. I heard of one guy who was able to negotiate his salary down a little bit in order to completely eliminate his noncompete.

Does your contract mention how to request extra tools or employees? like vaccuum dremels or good podiatry chairs? Scribes and medical assistants. If that matters to you, negotiate that.

I am not an expert on this but malpractice insurance tail vs full coverage might be something to look into. Not sure how negotiable it is.

Other nonimportant things (at least to me and most other podiatrists) which not all contracts include are research rights. For instance mine says that if I conduct research and become a millionaire off of it I get to keep all rights to it. Some contracts will claim the rights to that knowledge and profits.

working through some negotiations on contracts. What are some things that should be negotiated into contracts other than salary? Understand insurance, time off, cme etc. but what are some other non common ancillary things you’ve found beneficial to contracts? Any other general tips on negotiation?

My first advice is get a lawyer involved no matter what, you will miss verbiage in the contract that can screw you. I didn’t do this on my first contract and realized the guy basically owned me and at any point in time could call me and tell me to do something, so be careful. Otherwise these are important: