Creating my own beh. sleep med experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bmedclinic

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,
I am a clinical psychology phd student who has just matched to internship in my regional area. Unfortunately, because our match really has some glaring errors, I matched to an internship that does not fit my desires as well as I'd like. One of these is that I will not get sleep medicine experience built into my internship year. I'm looking for ways to create that experience for myself.

I say all this to gague how successful I might be at approaching a sleep lab that has two AASM boarded pulmonologists on board. Is it likely that they'll be interested in collaborating on research with me, or dismissive of a "psychology student"? Would they potentially be open to letting me create (with my internship's blessing) my own rotation of sorts, or is that highly unlikely? What about doing CBT-I or learning to read a PSG?

My hope is that I can gain enough experience to make me competative for a behavioral sleep medicine post-doc, as that is now my primary goal. Much of my background within clinical psychology is in health psychology, neuropsychology, and primary care psychology related.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I say all this to gague how successful I might be at approaching a sleep lab that has two AASM boarded pulmonologists on board. Is it likely that they'll be interested in collaborating on research with me, or dismissive of a "psychology student"? Would they potentially be open to letting me create (with my internship's blessing) my own rotation of sorts, or is that highly unlikely? What about doing CBT-I or learning to read a PSG?

A private sleep lab isn't going to be interested in research (other than lucrative clinical trials, which probably isn't what you are talking about)