CVS Techs Help Me!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Oink

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new pharmacy technician at CVS. I just finished training last week, worked one day at a random CVS because they needed help, and had my first real day at my CVS store yesterday. I was so overwhelmed yesterday. I got verbally abused by so many customers. Even though I was prepared for that, the thing that I don't like is that I have no idea how to help the patients when a problem arises. For example, I have no idea what to do when a patient asks me something related with insurance. The only thing I know is that if the medication is cheap, it probably went through insurance. Also when the phone rings, I don't know what to do when I'm speaking with the patient on the phone. I kept asking the other technicians to help me while I'm on the phone and they literally had to go step by step with me on the computer. But even then, the technicians do things so fast that I can't even learn anything. The only things I feel good at is when I'm at production, or serving customers who are picking up medications when no problems arise.

People just tell me to hang in there and I'll learn on the way but it feels there should be more than that. I can't really tell if I learned much so far besides the cash register and a couple commands on the computer. Anyone have any tips on things I should do every time I pick up the phone besides "Hi, thanks for calling CVS blah blah"?

I almost feel like quitting already. I'm applying to pharmacy school right now and I don't even know if this job is going to be worth it during my year off after graduating. :(

Members don't see this ad.