DACA student - What are my options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RadXOXO

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a NC student graduating from college with a BA in Mathematics & Psychology this coming Spring. I am beginning the process applying to dental school but I've run into a roadblock: Some dental schools have never met a DACA student. I have no problems with my GPA or DAT score, it's my immigration status that is holding me back.

There are two dental schools in NC which are pretty much shutting their doors (ECU only accepts NC residents with green cards and UNC only accepts students with green cards) so I think it is time for me to move around the US, become a resident in a certain state, and apply to dental school there. So here are my questions:

1. What states should I steer away from due to racial profiling, unfriendly to immigrants, difficulty to get a driver's license, etc?
I'm crossing out Arizona and Nebraska off my list. Any other states?

2. Which states are the most supporting and accepting of DACA students and immigrants?

3. What states would consider me as a resident & accept me with just DACA?
I know there is a list for undergrad colleges but does this also include the dental schools in that area?

4. What other options should I think about doing?

I know this is a very touchy subject so thank you so much in advance for helping me out.

Members don't see this ad.

Cross UAB off your list if AZ is off your list as well. AB has some weird law as well.

I don't think there is a list for DACA. Are you able to secure federal loans? If so, a bunch of the private schools don't care what state you're a resident of and you might be considered an international. NYU, Boston, Tufts, Louisville (takes internationals, not private), Case Western off the top of my head.