DAT 5/29 Breakdown and PCAT Comparison

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jophiel

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN users! I'm a longtime lurker, first time poster but wanted to share my experience studying for the DAT so maybe I can help out the community as it has helped me out!
Scores:
PA: 20
QR:19
RC: 25
BIO: 24
GC: 22
OC: 29 (still can't believe it)
TS: 24
AA: 24
To start off I have to admit I took a huge risk and started *actually* studying 10 days (7 hours/day) before the exam-the Monday after finals were over.
I don't recommend this to anybody but if for whatever reason you find yourself with limited studying time it may be useful. I have a pretty solid science background that I think helped my scores out a lot. Before I started studying I took the 2009 DAT and did average (I compared it with the score conversions for 2007 and got an AA 17 including a QR of 14). It was a great place to start though as it showed what I was awful at and prepared me for the setup of the DAT. From here I started studying on subject matter as follows- (this was tailored to my own weaknesses).

PA: Crack the PAT- one test per night. It was really cool because over the 10 days I saw my scores gradually improve on each test. I also think the questions are either on par with the real DAT or even a little harder. Sometimes when you bomb a section (or sections) you just want to shut the program off, but don't! Make sure you look up the solution and sit down until you figure out every single reason why your answer was wrong and why the correct answer is correct. This will work your brain and get it used to that type of thinking.