DAT Breakdown (Taken 1/7/16)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PreDentatron5000

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
~

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I stalked these forums quite a bit once I started studying for the DAT and I found these reviews to be somewhat helpful/insightful. So here it goes:

Background: Currently have around 3.1 GPA at a very good US public university. I took everything but Biochem and Anatomy/Physiology before starting prep. Needed a good score to compensate for poor grades. Did all the studying for this in a four week period (winter break). Decently involved in extra curriculars.

Resources:

Princeton Review Book - which turned out to be from 2012 and not 2015 because the seller on Amazon can't read the edition on their book properly
Cliff's AP Bio
DAT Bootcamp
DAT Destroyer (2014)
This forum as a whole

Checked out a Kaplan Book (2010) from the library but only went to it for Orgo reactions or for alternative explanations.

Scores:

PAT: 23
QR: 26
RC: 21
BIO: 25
GC: 20
OC: 22
TS: 22
AA: 23

BIO: Came in worried about taxonomy just cause there is literally so much that they could ask about. There's some excel spreadsheet I found on this site somewhere that was helpful as a extra resource for taxonomy. The Princeton Review I had didn't go into enough detail... well the 2012 version didn't...

Most questions weren't as specific as I thought they would be. I finished the Destroyer like two days before the test with this section, definitely was a good tool to use for content review. Bootcamp was good as well.

GC: Kind of annoyed with this being my lowest. I got three or four questions I wasn't sure on. There were two questions that I had no earthly idea on and never heard anything about during my time in my undergrad - which includes five chemistry classes.