DAT study schedule while working full time?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iqi123

Reaction score
Hi guys, i want to take the DAT by the end of this year. I'm also working full time as a dental assistant. I was wondering how others managed their time/had a schedule to feel prepared for the test?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I can definitely speak to this as I studied with a full time 8-5 job and a pregnant wife. You have to dedicate consistent time in the evening once you get off of work.

I would come home from work, pick up my study materials, and study from 6ish-9ish almost every night for 90 days. You need to stay focused and force yourself to study. I found just getting started (especially as the test grew closer) was the hardest part, but once you begin going through problems, your mind gets in the necessary groove to truck through.

I also had the unfortunate bonus of only having completed Biology I and OChem I before I signed up for the DAT, so I had a lot of extra material that I had to self-teach, but my consistent schedule proved invaluable.

As for materials, I'd recommend three main things:
  • Chad's Videos - These will teach you everything you need to know about Gen Chem and O Chem (if you need a refresher) and they're what taught me all of OChem II in a week.
  • DAT Bootcamp - Provides a ton of useful material, lots of great practice and techniques for the PAT, and complete practice tests which are invaluable to get your timing down.
  • DAT Destroyer - In my opinion, you absolutely need this book. As part of my studying, I would do 30 problems in Ochem, 30 in GChem, and 40-50 in Bio every day, and I was able to work through the book 4 times before my test date. I learned so much in each topic, and when test day came, I felt extremely confident in my science section and finished it with 25 minutes to spare.