Dealing with pre-pharm students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

radio frequency

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
As a pre-pharmacy student, I never understood why pre-pharm students were so reviled. As a pharmacist, it's very clear now. Pre-pharmacy folks haven't yet been weeded through for admission and don't always contain the best of the bunch.

The questions I've been asked by pre-pharm techs border on the absurd to disdainful.

"Pharmacy school isn't hard, right? Because I heard it's really easy."

My answer would be: I actually thought it was really hard.

"I did really bad on the PCAT, but I have a great GPA; do you think they'll let me in? I don't want to take the PCAT again."

I would definitely just retake the PCAT instead of assuming your fabulous GPA will save you...

Some of these folks don't appear to have an actual lick of interest in pharmacy. To be fair, I've also met some great pre-pharmers, but not all are this way. What doozies have you heard?

Members don't see this ad.

I've heard people say pharmacy school is really easy with pharmacy being a low stress job that's overpaid and that's why they want to go. There are also those ego-filled, pre-med esque pre-pharm students that are filled with arrogance and think they know everything. I saw a tech try to tell the pharmacist what to do and was trying to make clinical interventions when clearly they knew nothing. I also liked the pre-pharms who would try to illegally counsel on drugs and show off like saying "this is your beta-lactam antibiotic containing a beta-lactamase inhibitor" as if a patient is going to understand in the first place (and no one talks to patients like that). I love talking to pre-pharms, I like talking about school and pharmacy practice but many I have interacted with have been pretty fake.