Dear EM Program Directors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wolf02

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
On paper i'm not the greatest applicant. US-IMG, below 220 on steps 1 and 2. but I'm not a good test taker, I'm a good doctor. my clinical grades are all Honors with a few high passes. and I have great LORs. The dream is to do Emergency Medicine. Since I didn't match this year I need some help figuring out, from a PD point of view, what would you like to see on my application for next year??

obviously getting a prelim or transitional spot would be the best, and I'll be trying to get one as hard as I can. But, say I don't get one...

here's what I've been considering:
Research? (I never really got the feeling that EM cared too much about research.)
ED scribe? (I've done this before. and on the plus side I'll be spending a year IN the ED, working with ED docs, involved in medical decision making.)
Teaching? (I saw some positions for things like anatomy and physiology at a MA/RN program. I also think teaching ACLS/BLS could be benificial because I can meet people and obvously this is something I want to be an expert at.)
Observerships/Externships.
Step 3

So for anyone who wants to, (PDs especially appreciated) please rank the above based on what would help me most for applying next year.
any/all advice would be appreciated.

yes, I know it's a long shot.

Members don't see this ad.

(thinking outside the box here...did you also apply for joint residency programs that had an EM component?)

no, I did not. At the time I didn't really consider those since there were so few. are those easier or harder to get do you think?

Members don't see this ad :)
no, I did not. At the time I didn't really consider those since there were so few. are those easier or harder to get do you think?