derm residency experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dermyderm

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm currently a resident (pgy-2) in derm and life sucks. No, this isn't trolling or anything of the sort. I just wanted to rant anonymously about my experience about my program. You may also share the same experience or not about your program. For now, I won't name my program, but this is why it sucks.....

As a med student, I thought it would be cool to be part of a number of hospitals (VA, private, county and university) to get a great number of cases and different environments and payors.
***Reality: it sucks. going from hospital to hospital is a drag. you don't have the best parking. always running late. in extreme weather, it sucks even more

As a med student, I thought it would be cool to be part of a big ass class.
***Reality: it is awesome, then someone or several on vacation.... then you have to cover several ppl's clinic. On dermpath? not a real rotation! you get pulled for county derm clinic duty. On mohs? not a real rotation! get pulled for derm clinic duty.... on elective? not a real rotation!!! on something that we can somehow screw you with..... yea...

As a med student, attendings are so cool, just sitting their doing nothing..... Yes, that's an awesome job. Then as a resident you realize basically you are a scribe to certain attendings that just are either lazy, incompetent in seeing patients, just love making your their bitch or some combo of the 3. I mean seriously... are there any program out there that have the same freaking issue? don't get me wrong, some attendings see patients while you do to when some many are scheduled, but others are just bring on the wtf moments. **** man, some even start blaming residents for being slow..... then don't overbook the ****ing clinic in a place that has the crappiest EMR and expect efficiency and see some patients!!