DETAILED DAT BREAKDOWN (26AA/30TS)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

givemeDATdegree

Reaction score
Hello! I took my DAT literally a month ago. With the emotions settled in, and after some much needed DAT-free time, I'd like to give my breakdown.

SCORES:
PAT - 17
QR - 19
RC - 20
BIO - 30
GC - 30
OC - 30
TS - 30
AA - 26

BACKGROUND:
Graduated & majored in Biomedical Sciences & have a 3.85 GPA.
I am a Non-Traditional test taker ~ Life happened, took a detour and now I am able to continue my pursuit for a career in dentistry.

TIME/PRACTICE EXAMS:
Approx. 5.5 months (Started mid-January 2021). I studied 1 “AA” SUBJECT AT A TIME. This made my study schedule very straightforward, but maybe it is also why I took longer than most to prepare. I took my first practice exam 2 weeks before my DAT date. Full disclosure, I only used Booster's practice exams. I completed 6 full-lengths. 7-10, I only did the SONS sections. Here is a rough timeline, in chronological order, of my content schedule:

OChem - 1.5 months (was a bit too comfortable) (longest breakdown)
GChem - 3 weeks
BIO - 1.5 months
PAT - 2 weeks (learned/practiced sections, continued with generators while studying QR/RC)
QR - 2 weeks
RC - 2 weeks

RESOURCES
DAT BOOSTER
DAT BOOTCAMP
CHAD'S ORGANIC CHEMISTRY COURSE

ORGANIC CHEMISTRY
I started with Chad’s organic chemistry course on his website. The full 20+ lecture one. As this was the first section I was studying for, I had days of lots of productivity and days of none. Eventually, I found a good balance. Chad’s OCHEM course was a bit overkill for DAT content, but absolutely amazing for the end of the chapter/section questions. They really helped to keep me on my toes for all future Bootcamp and Booster questions.