Dilemma, help!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sofie08

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am trying to decide whether to return to my caribbean med school or just come back and do PA school? I am in my second year and not sure if I want to continue anymore. I have always wanted to be a doctor, but now I am older and really don't feel the drive to be a doctor like I used to. I knew about PAs before, but never really investigated what it entailed until now and it's making me re-think my decision to continue med school.

Also, there is that uncertainty that comes along with not being able to come back to practice in the US with the caribbean route.

Any advice is appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

If you don't have an acceptance to a PA school already, you need to weigh that risk. You aren't choosing between med school and PA school. You are choosing between med school and the CHANCE at PA school.

are you at one of the big 4?

That's true that is why I was thinking about applying to PA school first and see what happens.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi,

I am trying to decide whether to return to my caribbean med school or just come back and do PA school? I am in my second year and not sure if I want to continue anymore. I have always wanted to be a doctor, but now I am older and really don't feel the drive to be a doctor like I used to. I knew about PAs before, but never really investigated what it entailed until now and it's making me re-think my decision to continue med school.

Also, there is that uncertainty that comes along with not being able to come back to practice in the US with the caribbean route.

Any advice is appreciated!

Your belief that you won't work as hard - and for far less money - as a PA is as naive as this entire post. Being a PA is somewhat like being a permanent medical or surgical resident.

(Sorry. Brutal honesty sometimes stings a little.)