Dilemna with fourth year schedule and applying to Med/Peds programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mochamuffins

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well I am having trouble with setting up my fourth year rotations. I have finally decided to apply to med/peds and not pursue FP as I feel I want the more in depth training especially in pediatrics. My dilemna is that I am an osteopathic student and there is only one osteopathic approved residency in med/peds. My top choices are in allopathic programs. To make a long story short, I have to fill one month with either a subI in medicine at my top choice program or with consider doing a med/peds outpatient elective at this osteopathic approved site. My dilemna is that since my top choices are all allopathic sites, I am thinking I will not apply through the osteopathic match. My reason for doing the medicine subI was to get to know the program better if I was accepted. However, I would have already done a pediatric subI and a consult service at this hospital. Am I putting too many eggs in one basket? Should I do as many med-peds outpatient experiences as possible to get a flavor for the programs? Should I not do the medicine subI?
Any help or clairty of how to approach the situation is much appreciated!!!!!:(

Members don't see this ad.