Disabled student pursuing medical degree.

raj6689

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a disabled student on crutches. I have a very good academic career and want to pursue a medical degree. But I donot know the difficulties that can be faced by me due to my disability. can anyone give an insight into it? Is my decesion wrong?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi! and welcome! Even though i am a highschooler myself, I believe that everyone can do whatever they want if they put their mind to it. You know your strengths and weaknesses and you know how much you can handle. As I've read on here, medical can be very stressful, but if this is your dream, make your dream come true. I dont know that much about disabilites, but usually the people that have them are the ones with the biggest hearts. I give you points for wanting to go into the medical field, I desperately want too also.

This is just my 2cents on the matter.

Hi, I am a disabled student on crutches. I have a very good academic career and want to pursue a medical degree. But I donot know the difficulties that can be faced by me due to my disability. can anyone give an insight into it? Is my decesion wrong?

You have to meet the Techinical Standard for medical school. The address below is for my school UASOM but Im sure other school have similar Technical Standards.

http://main.uab.edu/uasom/2/show.asp?durki=21321

UASOM also have Accommodation Application Process for disable students in order to help them meet the technical standard so they can matriculate. Im sure other medschools have something similar.

http://main.uab.edu/uasom/2/show.asp?durki=21323

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)